Click for NEWS Click for SPORTS Click for ACCENT Click for OPINION Click for OBITUARIES Click for CALENDAR Click for CLASSIFIEDS Click for ARCHIVES Click for SPECIALSECTIONS
Subscribe  •  Business Directory  •  Recipes  •  The Stroller  •  Weddings  •  School Menus  •  Community Links  •  VA Lottery  •  Contact Us
Thursday, May 28, 2015
News Search   

Trent Memorial - Click for Website
Mckinney- Lennox - Click for Website

Martinsville Bulletin, Inc.
P. O. Box 3711
204 Broad Street
Martinsville, Virginia 24115
Toll Free: 800-234-6575

NELSON AUTOMOTIVE - Click for Website
City, county tally split

Wednesday, November 6, 2013


Henry County went Republican while Martinsville veered Democratic in statewide races in Tuesday’s election.

Unofficial local election results show Republican Ken Cuccinelli was the top vote-getter in the county among gubernatorial candidates, garnering 8,014 to Democrat Terry McAuliffe’s 4,557.

In Martinsville, McAuliffe — who ultimately was elected governor — placed first with 1,721 votes and Cuccinelli placed second with 1,411, election results show.

Libertarian gubernatorial candidate Robert Sarvis was third in both localities. He garnered 917 votes in the county and 237 in the city, results show.

County and city choices for lieutenant governor and state attorney general also were split between the parties.

In the county, Republican candidate for lieutenant governor E.W. Jackson garnered 7,321 votes while Democrat Ralph Northam received 5,708. In the city, Northam garnered 1,968 votes while Jackson received 1,335, unofficial results show. Northam won that race statewide.

Republican Mark Obenshain was the county’s choice for attorney general, receiving 8,487 votes to Democrat Mark Herring’s 4,613. In the city, Herring received 1,786 votes while Obenshain received 1,543, according to the results. That race was undecided late Tuesday.

For House of Delegates, incumbent Republican Del. Danny Marshall was the county’s preferred choice in the 14th District, capturing 2,455 votes. His Democratic challenger, Gary Miller, received 1,269 votes. The independent candidate, Mary Martin, received 388, unofficial results show.

In the 16th District, Republican Les Adams garnered 3,632 county votes to Democrat Elizabeth Jones’ 2,105, results show.

In Martinsville, Jones was the preferred candidate with 1,787 votes, and Adams received 1,521, results indicate. All of the city is in the 16th District.

Marshall and Adams won their races.

Incumbent 9th District Del. Charles Poindexter received 2,500 votes in the county in his unopposed re-election bid, results show.

The election also included local races.

Martinsville Commonwealth’s Attorney Joan Ziglar lost her bid for a fifth term to her former assistant, Clay Gravely. Ziglar received 1,626 votes while Gravely received 1,760, unofficial results show.

Henry County Commonwealth’s Attorney Andrew Nester received 9,978 votes in his unopposed bid for his first full four-year term, results reveal. Earlier this year, Nester was appointed to the post after his predecessor, Bob Bushnell, was appointed to a judgeship.

In Henry County Board of Supervisors races, incumbent Joe Bryant bested challenger Randolph Scott for the Collinsville District seat by 1,507 votes to 592 votes, respectively, results show.

Incumbent Milton Kendall retained the Iriswood District supervisor’s seat, capturing 1,538 votes to challenger Pat Favero’s 1,118, results indicate.

Incumbent Jim Adams garnered 1,421 votes in his unopposed re-election bid for the Blackberry District seat.

Three Henry County School Board seats were filled.

Tom Auker won the Blackberry District seat over Mike Hooper by 916 votes to 667 votes, according to unofficial results. Auker will succeed Rudy Law, who did not seek re-election.

Incumbent Curtis Millner Sr. received 2,100 votes in his unopposed bid for the Iriswood District seat, results show.

Nobody officially ran for the Collinsville District seat. A total of 581 votes were cast. Information on who those votes were for will not be available until Thursday.

In the city, Sheriff Steve Draper, Commissioner of the Revenue Ruth Easley and Treasurer Cindy Dickerson were unopposed in their re-election attempts. Draper received 3,069 votes while Easley received 2,982 and Dickerson received 2,989, results show.

The local elections races will not be declared official until after the county and city electoral boards canvass the results today.

A total of 13,653 of the county’s 35,373 registered voters cast ballots in Tuesday’s election, resulting in a voter turnout of 38.6 percent.

Voter turnout was 39 percent in Martinsville, with 3,454 of the city’s 8,848 registered voters having gone to the polls.


Joe Cobbe CPA - Click for Website
New College Institute - Click for Website
THE EYE SITE - Click for Website
Rives S. Brown Realtors - Click for Website
The Spencer Group - Click for Website
Lockman & Associates - Click for Website
Martinsville/Henry Co. Chamber of Commerce - Click for Website
PHCC - Click for Website