Patrick Henry Scholars

Patrick Henry Scholars are (from left, front) Brooklynn Caviness, Samantha Helms, Allison Boyd, Lydia Gunter, Montana Moorefield; and (back row) Ashlee Mesot, Logan Dalton, Jessica Amos, Faith Stowe, Oceana Torres and Allyson Lawson.

Patrick Henry Community College has named 11 students – all graduates of Patrick County High School — as 2019-20 Patrick Henry Scholars.

The program provides recipients with two years of free tuition at PHCC and the opportunity to join an elite group of scholars, the school said in a release.

Those chosen were selected for their exemplary academic achievement and leadership abilities in high school. All 11 honorees this year graduated with a grade-point average of 3.7 or higher.

PHCC is accepting applications until March 31 for its next class of scholars. To apply visit Applicants must be current high school seniors from Patrick County, Martinsville or Henry County who have a GPA of 3.0 or higher and are planning to start PHCC this fall.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.